NCAS-M is a Cooperative Science Center comprised of 13 institutions of higher education (partners and affiliates):

Partners: Howard University (lead), Jackson State University, Pennsylvania State University, State University of New York, Albany; University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez; University of Texas, El Paso; University of Maryland Baltimore County; and University of Maryland, San Jose State University.

Affiliates: Fort Valley State University, San Diego State University, Tuskegee University, and Universidad Metropolitana.

The NCAS-M partnership is a unique balance of minority-serving and majority-serving institutions located along the eastern seaboard, the southwest, the Gulf coast, and the United States (US) Caribbean.

The cooperative agreement and related activities under NCAS-M are aimed at producing a diverse group of highly-trained professionals for NOAA and the broader atmospheric and environmental sciences workforce.

NCAS-M’s mission is to increase the number of workforce-ready graduates from underrepresented communities in NOAA-related sciences, with particular emphasis on scientific, technological, and societal challenges associated with atmospheric sciences and meteorology.

NCAS-M’s aim is for EPP-funded graduates to enter NOAA mission workforce as hires by NOAA, NOAA contractors, NOAA partners, or resource management agencies, academia, or as entrepreneurs.

NCAS-M’s overall goal is to conduct education and research that directly supports NOAA’s mission to recruit, train, and graduate students particularly from underrepresented communities for the agency mission workforce.

NCAS-M is funded by NOAA/EPP Cooperative Agreement #NA16SEC4810006.